[openstreetmap/openstreetmap-website] Deleted user: history lost (#1311)
notifications at github.com
Thu Oct 6 07:05:27 UTC 2016
Deleted users used to be changed to something like "user_12345" (number chosen for illustration only), and you were still able to e.g. view the edit history of such a user. This is an important feature for the community to understand what someone has done (imagine e.g. a vandal making 20 edits then asking for his account to be deleted - you still want to be able to identify which edits they made).
However, for reasons I failed to identify in the code, deleted users now show up with the user name "deleted" (e.g. http://www.openstreetmap.org/changeset/37413625), and no hyperlink.
This is definitely a recent change but I cannot pinpoint where and when exactly it was introduced.
Requesting the raw XML for such an object still reveals the "user_12345" name, but then requesting that user's history through a link like http://www.openstreetmap.org/user/user_12345/history yields an error message as well. It would be desirable to be able to access the user's history in this way even though the account was deleted.
This might not be such a recent change but in March this year it was definitely still possible to access deleted users' histories in this way.
You are receiving this because you are subscribed to this thread.
Reply to this email directly or view it on GitHub:
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
More information about the rails-dev