[OSM-dev] Spam from OSM server?

matthew-osm at newtoncomputing.co.uk matthew-osm at newtoncomputing.co.uk
Sat Feb 9 18:32:28 GMT 2008


On Fri, Feb 08, 2008 at 12:58:47AM +0000, Tom Hughes wrote:
> In message <20080207221710.GE11273 at lochewe.mathy.remote.org>
>           Frederik Ramm <frederik at remote.org> wrote:
> > At first I thought, maybe someone has sent spam to talk-za using my
> > address as the sender and the above is Mailman's rejection message,
> > but in that case both the To: and Subject: headers should be
> > different.
> You can't believe the To: header in an email - it means more or
> less nothing. The important thing is the SMTP envelope recipient
> details. In this case, that was:
>   vote-owner at openstreetmap.org

I look after talk, dev and talk-gb. I get tens of these per

I've asked before but I'll mention it again: is there any
chance of putting some spam filtering on lists?

I'm happy to advise or to do it if needed. If the machine is
a problem because of CPU then I can donate a Xen VM at work
to take the load off the box - spamassassin can be run
remotely. The VM used to run osmxapi until it moved off a
few months ago - it's been sitting idle since then (actually
turned off waiting for something to do).

[If you want some credentials, I run the mail hubs with spam
and virus scanning for the University of Leicester.]

Filtering would really help for mailman. If nothing else it
would mean that the list owners would have at least a chance
at running the lists properly (currently moderator requests
are so drowned in spam that the only sane thing to do is to
delete the lot).



More information about the dev mailing list